Skip to content

Ann Arbor Arts Festival

July 30, 2012

Every year Ann Arbor celebrates its much coveted arts festival wherein artists across United States get a chance to showcase their talents in the four day extravaganza. I had my first brush with the arts festival last year and absolutely fell in love with it. Many of the main streets in this beautiful university town is closed off to traffic during this four day window and artists are allowed to set up their stalls in these streets. You can find musicians, painters, chefs, metallic/pottery artists, photographers exhibiting their unique creations and many of these artifacts gets sold in the initial few days itself. It is truly a delight to your senses and even if I didn’t buy anything, I loved walking through those streets taking in all the beautiful art that was on display. Some of the highlights I saw in my visit this year were

Metallic Art made of metal scraps

Pottery Art

Spectacular Photographs

Letter Art

Flower Art

Some awe inspiring structures

Beautiful music played by many

Young musicians

They played the most beautiful rendition of Bad Romance (Lady Gaga) that I have ever heard.

Man playing Didgeridoo, a wind instrument developed by Indigenous Australians of northern Australia

Beautiful Kaleidoscopes

Funky paintings

And painters creating the art right in front of your eyes

Does your city celebrate an annual arts festival? What are your thoughts on it?

P.S. I created this post a week back but it took a while for me to figure out the nitty-gritties of image editing in my custom domain. Well, I know no one told me that migrating to wordpress is easy. Sigh !

From → arts festival

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

